top of page
  • Writer's pictureGrae Queen

At The Eighth Hour

Chapter 17


Days Since Incident: 73

Time: 17:44

Location: Unknown

Climate: 34°F


The cold air had a wisp of baked beans and twinkies. I felt some heat coming from somewhere around me, but it wasn’t enough to warm me up. My body ached and every slight movement I made, reminded me of my empty stomach. I don’t know how I’ve lasted this long? If I didn’t have people depending on me, I would’ve given up and died long ago.

Though I was never a fan of baked beans and twinkies, my mouth immediately began to water. It didn’t help that with my eyes covered, and my arms and legs bounded, my sense of smell was heightened. My stomach began to twist and turn from painful excitement at the scent of food.

The guys next to me began to stir awake. I could tell they had blindfolds on too, from their confused murmurs. There was also slight movement around us; whoever knocked us out was definitely there.

“Who are you guys?”Jackson cried out. I heard him attempt to wiggle out the restraints, but to no avail.

“Jackson, relax!” I cried out. “It’s fucking pointless! Don’t waste your energy; we need it for our people!”

If there was a chance that we would be able to get out of here, we needed to take it. There were too many people dependent on us.

“Look, I am sorry for trying to steal from you. But please understand that we have people that depend on us. They are cold, starving, and close to death. They need us. Even if you cannot spare food, at least let us go.” I pleaded. I didn’t know what these people wanted to do to us, whether they wanted to kill and eat us, or use us as bait.

There was silence after I spoke; even my guys had settled down a bit. All I heard was the sound of someone walking on soft snow, and my heavy breathing.

After what felt like forever, I heard someone speak softly. “You threatened to kill two small kids.” Her voice was soft, yet stern.

“We did not harm them.” I replied.

“But you did threaten them.” she said, correcting me. “For someone who has people who depend on them, for protection and food, you show no mercy or hesitation when confronting children. Why should I show you or your people an ounce of mercy when you would’ve killed our own?”

“But we didn’t!” I argued back. When this is done and over with, I was personally going to kill Jackson. “Look, you can keep me hostage, and kill me. But please let them go!”

“Rayn, STOP! Don’t do this!” Trev screamed. “Look, if you want to keep or kill anyone, just take fucking Jackson!”

“What the fuck did I do?!” Jackson yelled.

“You tried to attack those kids!” Georgie screamed back. “Jesus fucking Christ, you always start some shit! Rayn wanted to wait back, and see if there was anyone by the Goddamn trucks! BUT NO!!!!!! The Almighty Jackson needs to do whatever HE WANTS!”

The two began bickering against one another. It was only a few seconds later, before Trev and Tye joined in. The scene was erupting into a “blind man’s chaos”, and I needed to gain back control immediately.

“CAN YOU SHUT THE FUCK UP!” I screamed as loud as I could. It probably wasn’t such a bright idea, seeing as how any infected person would hear their loud voices, and follow it. But my yelling did silence my group, and we were finally surrounded by calm.

“Look, just let these guys go. I’m their leader, and I take full responsibility for their actions. I led them down here. They are of no use to you guys, BUT they are needed by our group. So please, just let them go. You can kill me afterwards for all I care.”

The guys were stunned, unable to talk, let alone move. I waited for a response, but nothing came.

“You cannot possibly keep us here!” I screamed. “If you do not let them go, I will get louder! I know you guys are packing heat, but the amount of fucking infected people that would be on you, would be too much to handle!”

As soon as I stopped screaming, I felt the end of the barrel of a gun at the base of my neck. I heard the click of the gun, and waited. Clearly, whoever I was dealing with meant business.

“The next sound you make, will be your last.” she warned. “And then your friends over here will be next. Once all of you are dead, I will lead the infected hoard to your group, and let them have their fun. And I will do so without an ounce of pity or regret.”

I waited in silence, unsure of what to do next. Granted, I did suggest killing ONLY me, but she threatened to kill everyone else. Whoever this bitch was, she was fucking insane.

All of a sudden, she removed my blindfold. Though it was pitch dark outside, it took a few seconds for my eyes to adjust to everything. Some lady stood in front of me, holding a gun and my blindfold.

To me, she looked average. And to be honest, I’d probably seen prettier girls before. But her wicked smile broke me; she was actually smiling as she pointed her gun at me. She probably was smiling when she threatened to kill everyone. This bitch was fucking nuts!

She walked back to a rock that I assumed she sat on previously. “So, Rayn is it? What are we going to do?”

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

At The Eighth Hour

Chapter 28 Days Since Incident: 77 Time: 11:41 Place: Campsite Climate: 37°F Grae fell to the floor; heaving heavily. She spat blood out...

Comments


bottom of page