top of page
  • Writer's pictureGrae Queen

The Girl In The Letter, by Emily Gunnis Review

I don’t think I’ve ever read anything more infuriating before. This novel, based off of the real “Mother/Daughter” homes that were once actively (and forcibly) separating young unwed mothers from their children. And to make things worse, the children were adopted, and the mother was forced to sign a contract that states they will never attempt to make contact with the child in the future.

Now, despite this being a very sad storyline, I couldn’t help but not like the novel. It was anticlimactic, and Samantha and her grandmother infuriated me to no end. I’ve never met amore reckless, idiotic duo who lacked common sense AND ALL parental responsibility! The ONLY PERSON I like is Fred, cause he managed to get away from it all at the end.

I don’t know if this can be clearly stated, but this story had me aggressively debating on whether or not Samantha is as stupid as I think she is. Aleshia and Jen think differently, and we’ve pretty much come to the conclusion that we like the description of every death scene (A MUST READ). That was the only thing we agreed upon.

Let me know what you guys think. Next on Elevated Book Club, The Hate U Give, by Angie Thomas.




0 views0 comments

Subscribe Form

Thanks for submitting!

  • Twitter
  • Tumblr

©2020 by In the Life of Grae. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page